Kansas delegation follows party lines in impeachment vote

Kansas members of the U.S. House of Representatives voted along party lines in Wednesday’s vote to impeach President Donald Trump over the January 6th mob attack on the Capitol building in Washington.

Democrat Sharice Davids from the 3rd District voted for impeachment, along with all of the other Democrats in the House.

Republicans Tracey Mann of the 1st District, Jake LaTurner from the 2nd District and Ron Estes in the 4th District all voted no.   Only ten Republicans in the House voted in favor of impeachment.

Trump was charged with “incitement of insurrection” after encouraging supporters to march on the Capitol to protest election results.   The House vote was 232 to 187 in favor of impeachment.   A trial in the U.S. Senate is not expected to begin until around January 20th.